Come Sail Away…

“I’m so geeked out by our braids,” Laura laughs and smiles back at me and Kate in the back seat. We’re pulling out of the parking lot of a Myrtle Beach hotel, headed to go para sailing for the day. I laugh too, amused by the four of us in our childish hairstyles, doing something together and matching.

We drive with the windows down, the summer sun hot and the air coming through the windows warm.  I look at the car seat beside me, the cute baby toys sitting various places. I look at Christy’s engagement ring and reflect on all the change that comes so fast. Babies, weddings, careers, college. I look at my sisters, with all the same hairstyle in that moment but so different when it comes down to our characters, passions, personalities. So different, and yet bonded by the love only sisters have.

I was truly content in the moment, as we sailed, I realized it was a moment made just for the four of us.

Leave a Reply

