Yummy Crock Pot Chicken Soup

There is a little chill in the air in the mornings now. Yesterday morning I had to put a jacket on Aviana. Matt and children everywhere are back at school. Soon the leaves will be changing, we’ll be picking pumpkins, going to the state fair, hayrides, football, my cozy penn state sweatshirt, sigh….I LOVE FALL! Fall in our house also means the start of warm yummy crock pot soups. Since for some reason I’ve been particularly craving fall this year (maybe it was the pumpkin spice latte I had this week, yum!) I decided to make some of my famous crock pot soup last night so Matt, Aviana, and I could have a warm, healthy lunch! Here’s the recipe, super easy, hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Laura’s Crock Pot Vegetable Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

2 Thawed Chicken Breasts (I used airchilled never frozen chicken breasts, again from Wholefoods)

1 32oz carton of Chicken or Vegetable broth (I use 365 Organic Vegetable Broth from Wholefoods)

1/2 cup of baby carrots (You can use whole or slice them, I slice them for Aviana, carrots are in the frozen vegetable mix but I like to use extra carrots, after all, they are good for your eyes 😉 )

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

4 to 5 cups of frozen vegetables (from 2 7-ounce packages or 1 16-ounce package, we use 365 Everyday Value frozen vegetables that contain peas, carrots, and green beans.)

2 potatoes, chopped (I used organic so I washed them well and kept the skins on)

1/2 cup of uncooked orzo pasta

1-2 cups of water (We only use one, but use two if you like broth!)

I sprinkle in black pepper and basil to taste

You can also add onion if you like, I usually use 1/2 onion, but since Aviana will be sharing this with us this year, I left it out.

Here is the really tough part, throw it all in the crock pot! I put the chicken in first, on the bottom, then the potatoes and garlic. I do not cut up the chicken, when it’s all done I find it easily comes apart when you stir. If you want you can cut the chicken into bite size pieces prior to cooking.

Cover and cook on LOW for 7 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 3 1/2 to 4 hours.

Makes 6 to 8 servings.

I made this in a 1/2 hour right before bed last night. This morning I scooped some out for Matt, Aviana, and I. I still had enough for us all to eat it for lunch again tomorrow! Super easy and healthy lunch for my loves 🙂 Hope you enjoy!

Laura 😉

20120916-224142.jpg

One thought on “Yummy Crock Pot Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

