Momma Z’s Apple Cake

I went home to my parent’s house to enjoy the state fair (more on that
later!) and my mom had made a delicious apple cake.  Now maybe I’m a
little biased but in my opinion, Matt, my sisters, and my Dad will
all agree that there is no better baker than my mom!    I think it
stems from her southern roots, from a long line of delicious cooks and
the use of butter.   Let’s admit, butter just makes things better!
(This may be the reason I was probably the only freshman that went to
college and LOST 10 pounds, hehe)  I let myself indulge when I go home
and after three delicious pieces of this amazing apple cake, I knew I
had to share this recipe.   My recommendation, a family outing of
apple picking then coming home and making this apple cake!

Momma Z’s Apple Cake

Cake:
4 apples, peeled and cut in bite size pieces
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
2 cups of white flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup nuts (pecans or walnuts)
1 tsp. vanilla

Topping:
1 cup of sugar
1/4 cup of butter
1 small can evaporated milk (5 oz)
1 tsp. vanilla

Cake:
Spray an 11×13 pan with cooking spray.
Place the apples and sugar together in a bowl and mix.  Let stand for
10 minutes.
In another bowl, beat oil and eggs together with a wooden spoon.
Sift dry ingredients together and add to oil mixture.
Stir in apple mixture, nuts and vanilla.
Pour into pan and bake in oven at 350 degrees for 50 minutes to 1 hour.

Topping

Bring to a boil in saucepan on stove:  1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1
small can evaporated milk (5 oz)., stirring constantly.
Remove from heat and add vanilla.
Pour over cake after it comes out of oven.
This apple deliciousness is good warm or cold.

Laura

Leave a Reply

